Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Small Town Candidates and Big-Time Politics

The popular caricature of a glad-handing, back slapping, puddle-deep, politician is ubiquitous in American politics. The relationship between actual politicians and the voters, however, seems to belie this very popular and intentionally pejorative stereotype. In “real life” it often seems like the politicians who most resemble this picture are also the most effective policy makers. This realization tends to amplify another popular notion, namely that big-time politics and policy making are corrupt, superficial, and not attractive to folks who are willing and able to “roll up their sleeves, work hard, and do the right thing even when it’s unpopular.”

Click HERE for the rest of the story.

An Important Election Season

The following nomination papers have been certified for the Town of Longmeadow Annual Town Election to be held on June 8, 2010.

Select Board – 2 three year seats
Roy Johansen, 85 Western Drive
Mark Gold, 129 Avondale Road (Incumbent)
Michael Clark, 169 Cooley Drive
Christine Swanson, 96 Salem Road
David Gustafson, 173 Ardsley Road

School Committee – 2 three year seats:
Thomas Brunette, 187 Quinnehtuk Road (Incumbent)
Tracy DeMarco, 152 Meadow Road
Jennifer Jester, 129 Farmington Avenue

Planning Board – 1 five year seat
Kenneth Taylor, 149 Academy Drive (Incumbent)

****At this time the town will need to hold a preliminary election for the two Select Board seats to narrow the field of five candidates down to four on Tuesday, May 4 from 8 am – 8 pm, unless any candidate withdraws their name. The deadline to file objections or withdrawals is March 31 at 5 PM.

Annual Town elections will be held on Tuesday, June 8.

At this election will likely be a vote on a debt exclusion Proposition 2½ override of ~ $46 million for the new high school and the election of two Select Board members who will likely be very influencial regarding the future direction of our town.

It's now the time for town residents to wake up and become informed.